Press Release, Berlin

Four new members on the Supervisory Board of the German Energy Agency

Federal Government and KfW appoint Tanja Gönner, Prof. Joachim Nagel, Dr. Helmut Schönenberger and Ewald Woste

The Federal Government and KfW have appointed four new members to the Supervisory Board of the Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena) – the German Energy Agency: Tanja Gönner, chair of the Management Board of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH  (GIZ); Prof. Joachim Nagel, member of the Executive Board of the KfW Group; Dr. Helmut Schönenberger, co-founder and Managing Director of UnternehmerTUM GmbH; and Ewald Woste, a business consultant with many years of management experience in the energy industry. On the Supervisory Board, Tanja Gönner, Dr. Helmut Schönenberger and Ewald Woste are replacing the former representatives of the three private shareholders – Deutsche Bank AG, DZ BANK AG and Allianz SE – whose shares dena took over at the beginning of the year. Prof. Joachim Nagel is taking over as Deputy Chairman of dena’s Supervisory Board, succeeding Dr. Norbert Kloppenburg, who resigned from his position at the end of October 2017.

‘We’re absolutely delighted that Tanja Gönner, Prof. Joachim Nagel, Dr. Helmut Schönenberger and
Ewald Woste will be strengthening dena’s Supervisory Board,’ said Andreas Kuhlmann, Chief Executive of dena. ‘They bring valuable experience with them and will be able to boost dena’s commercial development significantly. Their expertise is ideally suited to the type of work that dena is involved in and the challenges presented by the energy transition at home and abroad. At the same time, we’d like to sincerely thank the Supervisory Board members who are stepping down – Dr. Tessen von Heydebreck, Dr. Norbert Kloppenburg, Dr. Armin Sandhövel and Stefan Zeidler – for all the good work that they’ve done.’

Expertise in international cooperation, financing, new business models and the energy industry

Tanja Gönner is a lawyer whose experience includes several years as a member of the Baden-Württemberg state government, initially as Social Affairs Minister, then as Environment Minister, and finally as Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Transport. Since July 2012 she has been the spokesperson for the Executive Board of GIZ, which supports the Federal Government in attaining its targets for international cooperation in sustainable development as well as in its work internationally in the field of education.

Prof. Joachim Nagel is an economist. Before his time with KfW he was a member of the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank. In November 2016 he was appointed General Manager of KfW, before stepping up to the Executive Board at the beginning of November 2017. Established in 1948, KfW works on behalf of the Federal Government and the states to improve economic, social and environmental living conditions around the world as well as support economic, environmental and social change.

Dr. Helmut Schönenberger is an aerospace engineer as well as an investor and co-founded UnternehmerTUM GmbH in 2002. Through the Centre for Innovation and Business Creation at the Technical University of Munich, he aims to support high-tech start-ups, founders and scientists from their initial ideas to successfulproducts, and promote them in the long term.

Ewald Woste has a master’s degree in business administration and began working as a manager in the energy industry in 1992. From 2007 to 2014 he was Chief Executive of the Management Board of Thüga Aktiengesellschaft, and from 2010 to 2014 President of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (BDEW). Since 2015 he has been advising companies, particularly in the energy sector, and is a member of various supervisory boards, including those of GASAG AG, E.ON SE and Thüringer Energie AG.

About dena

dena was established in 2000 as a private limited liability company predominantly federally owned. It is the centre of expertise for energy efficiency, renewable energy sources and intelligent energy systems. As the ‘agency for applied energy transition’, it contributes to the attainment of the Federal Government’s energy and climate policy targets.

With around 200 staff, dena generated a revenue of 20.1 million euros in 2016. Its shareholders are the Federal Republic of Germany, represented by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, in consultation with the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety, and the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure, along with the KfW Group.

Private shareholders – Deutsche Bank AG, DZ BANK AG and Allianz SE – each owned an eight per cent share in dena from January 2008 until December 2016. Their shares were taken over by dena at the beginning of 2017.